Enter your keyword

Stage 2 of Ontario’s Framework for Reopening the Province

Stage 2 of Ontario’s Framework for Reopening the Province

Stage 2 of Ontario’s Framework for Reopening the Province

On June 8, 2020, Premier Doug Ford announced that Ontario will be taking a regional approach to move into stage 2 of reopening the province.  Specifically, many regions at the outskirts of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) will be able to move into stage 2 as of Friday June 12, 2020.

In addition, effective June 12, 2020 all regions (regardless of entering stage 2) will be allowed to increase social gatherings from 5 to 10 people with physical distancing of 6 feet or 2 meters intact. Places of worship will also be able to reopen with physical distancing restrictions and allowing no more than 30 percent of their capacity.

The following public health regions WILL NOT move into stage 2 and remain in stage 1 until further notice:

  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Halton Region Public Health
  • Hamilton Public Health Services
  • Lambton Public Health
  • Niagara Region Public Health
  • Peel Public Health
  • Toronto Public Health
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
  • York Region Public Health


The following public health unit regions WILL BE allowed to move into Stage 2 as of June 12, 2020:

  • Algoma Public Health
  • Brant County Health Unit
  • Chatham-Kent Public Health
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit
  • Hastings Prince Edward Public Health
  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health
  • Leeds Grenville & Lanark District Health Unit
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit
  • North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit
  • Northwestern Health Unit
  • Ottawa Public Health
  • Peterborough Public Health
  • Porcupine Health Unit
  • Public Health Sudbury & Districts
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services
  • Renfrew County and District Health Unit
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit
  • Southwestern Public Health
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit
  • Timiskaming Health Unit
  • Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health

Places that can open in stage 2 with restrictions include:

For more information  on stage 2 of Ontario’s framework for reopening the province please visit: https://www.ontario.ca/page/reopening-ontario-whats-each-stage#section-2

Skip to content